Ecstasy by Irvine Welsh, Adapted by Keith Wyatt

No Drama Theatres Production of Ecstasy by Irvine Welsh, Adapted by Keith Wyatt

17th – 21st May 2011
Doors 7:30PM, Show start 8PM sharp.
T@36 Theatre The Teachers Club
36 Parnell Square West

Tickets :

Adapted by: Kevin Wyatt

Directed by: David McGowan

Assistant Director: David Fleming

Patrick OCallaghan as Lloyd
Patrick O’Callaghan as Lloyd

Ecstasy, Three Tales of a Chemical Romance is Irvine Welsh’s most high profile work since Trainspotting. Released in the wave of publicity surrounding the film, it consists of three unconnected novellas. Adapted by Kevin Wyatt and directed by David McGowan, No Drama Theatre brings the third chapter, The Undefeated to the stage in the Teachers’ Club, Parnell Square from the 17th to the 21st of May.

Resonant of many of Welsh’s other works, the story is set in Edinburgh against the backdrop of the early 90’s rave scene. It can be described as a sly, subtle romance between Heather, a young woman dissatisfied with the confines of her suburban life and Lloyd an aging club goer.

Edinburgh born Welsh is an acclaimed and often controversial contemporary novelist, best known for his novels Trainspotting and The Acid House. His work is often characterised by raw Scottish dialogue and a brutal depiction of the realities of Edinburgh life. To date, Welsh has published seven novels and three collections of short stories as well as writing and directing several screenplays. Shooting for a film version of Welsh’s Ecstasy, Three Tales of a Chemical Romance has also begun and it is due for release later this year.

Warning: Strobe Lighting used.


Declan Ryan as DJ
Declan Ryan as DJ

Patrick O’Callaghan – Lloyd
Tracey Diamond – Heather
Ruairi De Burca – Hugh, Woodsy, Nukes, Mr. Moir, Eric, Restaurateur
Angela Carlin – Marie, Moll, Veronica
Joe McCarthy – Ally, Drewsy, Vaughan, Mr. Case, Bill, Reverend
Brian, Robert, Mrs. McKensie
Caoimhe Cooke – Hazel
Ellen Nolan – Amber, Victim, Polis
Declan Ryan as The D.J.


Director Dave McGowan and Assistant Director Dave Fleming
Director Dave McGowan and Assistant Director Dave Fleming

Director – Dave McGowan
Assistant Director – David Fleming
Producer – Maria Dillon
Production Manager – Alan Rogers
Stage Manager – Rhiannon Dawson
Technical Director – Sheila Dooley
Set Designer – Tom Murphy
Props Coordinator – Maureen Burgess
Costume – Lynn Harnedy and Alan Rogers
Hair & Make-Up Coordinator – Ann Hogan
Hair & Make-Up Crew – Maria Dillon, Nicole Meehan, Sarah Maloney
Sound Designer – Christine Leonard
Lighting Designer – Shane Robinson
Lighting Assistant – Paula Madden
Graphic Designer – Gráinne O’Sullivan
House Manager – Brendan Dalton
Front of House – Rachel Byrne, Ellen Hallinan
Box Office – Alan Rogers
Stage Hands – Yvonne Durran, Sarah Bowie, Damien Holmes
Publicity Laura Jackson
Special thanks to Brian Quinn

Leave a Reply